Information > Qualification Codes

Qualification Codes


Pearson is committed to maintaining professional standards in testing.

A central principle of professional test use is that individuals should use only those tests for which they have the appropriate training and expertise. Pearson supports this principle by stating qualifications for the use of particular tests, and selling tests to individuals who provide credentials that meet those qualifications. The policies that Pearson uses to comply with professional testing practices are described below.

Additional policy information may be found on the qualifications policy page.


Product qualification levels

All Pearson Clinical Assessments products in the UK are assigned a qualifications level of either CL1, CL2, CL2R, or CL3 (with CL1 being the highest qualification level). 

In order to establish which tests are available to you, simply compare your training code against the product qualification code.

UNAS: Unassigned tests are available to all users, there are no special qualifications to purchase these products.

Qualification Level CL3 

CL3 tests in general, are those which do not require an individual to have advanced training in assessment and interpretation. Qualified teachers would be given this code. A BSc in Psychology will only give access to CL3 unless the individual has further training in test administration.

Qualification Level CL2R

CL2R tests require qualified teaching status and a further Post Graduate Qualification in SEN ie Post Graduate Diploma or Masters. This qualification would need to be in SEN, SpLD or a relevant field at Level 7.

For individuals in the Republic of Ireland only - CL2R tests require qualified teaching status + Certificate of Competence in Educational Testing (CCET - Test User) + evidence that you have signed up to the British Psychological Society’s Register of Qualifications in Test Use (RQTU) or The Postgraduate Award of Proficiency in Standardised Educational Testing (PAPSET) + evidence that you have signed up to the Chartered Institute of Educational Assessors (CIEA)

For Guidance Counsellors in the Republic of Ireland  access to CL2R tests require:

  1. A post graduate qualification in Guidance  and;
  2. Confirmation that the Guidance Counsellor is registered with the Psychological Society of Ireland (PSI) Register of Psychometric Test Use: Guidance Counsellors  to ensure relevant Certification of Psychometric Test use by Guidance Counsellors . (Clarification of membership and registration is available at PSI PSI- Guidance Counsellor register  (  or contact the National Centre for Guidance in Education )

Qualification Level CL2 

CL2 tests may be purchased by individuals who are certified by a professional organisation recognised by Pearson Assessment or have a graduate and/or post graduate qualification relevant to their profession. This qualification code would encompass all psychologists other than those mentioned for CL1, speech or occupational therapists, mental health professionals and health practitioners with appropriate Graduate and professional qualifications in their field of practice. 

Qualification Level CL1 

Tests with a CL1 qualification require a high level of expertise in test interpretation, and can be purchased by individuals who:

  • Are registered with the HCPC as a Practitioner Psychologist and/or is a Chartered Psychologist with the BPS.

  • Are registered with the HCPC as a Practitioner Psychologist and also has the protected titles of Clinical Psychologist, Forensic Psychologist, Counselling Psychologist or Educational Psychologist.

NB Practitioner Psychologists registered with the HCPC, but who have no protected title or the protected titles of Health Psychologist or Sports and Exercise Psychologist, will be given a CL2 status.

The table below shows which tests are available to you within your training code:

Your Code Available Product Codes
CL1 All CL products
CL2 CL2, CL2R, CL3

NB No qualifications are required in order to be able to purchase UNAS tests.


Purchasing as a qualified user

Individual qualification levels

Similar to our product levels, all website customers are assigned an individual qualification level of either CL1, CL2, CL2R, or CL3 to allow for purchasing of corresponding assessments.

Qualification information can be entered either when you are prompted during the initial website account registration process or at any time after your website account is created by signing in to account and navigating in the top menu to My Account. You may update your qualifications at any time in the same section.

Customers who obtain a CL1 level can purchase any product on the website while customers with CL2 level can only purchase CL2, CL2R, or CL3 level products. Customers with CL3 level may only purchase CL3 level products. For further information please view the qualifications policy and full table of qualifications requirements.

Please note, if you are not the qualified user but are purchasing an assessment on behalf of someone else in your organisation who is, you may still be able to purchase products at a higher qualification level. For this information, please visit the purchasing on behalf of a qualified user information below.


Purchasing on behalf of a qualified user

In the majority of cases, the customer purchasing an assessment is also the qualified user that will administer the assessment. The ability to purchase an assessment depends on that customer’s individual qualification level.

However, in some cases purchasing agents, administrative assistants, financial officers, etc. may need to purchase assessments on behalf of a qualified user who will ultimately administer the assessment. These purchasers may not hold the required individual qualification level necessary to purchase the required assessment products. In these cases, a customer can opt to purchase on behalf of another qualified user instead of themselves.

To purchase on behalf of a qualified user this currently cannot be done online. Please visit the manual ordering page and purchase by email or phone.

Customers cannot purchase on behalf of others who are not part of the same organisation.


What do you think?