Award Categories

THE SHINE A LIGHT AWARDS 2016/17 Categories

Results now in. 

Early Years Setting of the Year

Open to all early years settings in England for children from birth to 5 years old.


Primary School of the Year

Open to all primary schools in England.


Secondary School or College of the Year

Open to all Secondary Schools, Colleges and Sixth Form Centres in England.


SEN School/Group of the Year

Open to all SEN schools in England.


SLCN Innovation Award

Open to all organisations and individuals be they public, private or voluntary, in England


Young Person of the Year Award

Open to children and young people in England from birth to 25 years old with communication needs.


Communication Champion Award

Open to any outstanding individual in England who has gone above and beyond to make a difference for children with speech, language and communication needs (SLCN).


Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) Award

Open to all settings in England who provide best practice for children and young people who use AAC


The Communication Commitment School of the Year

Open to all schools that are registered for the Communication Commitment and who have worked together as a staff team to support all pupils’ communication development.


If you have any queries about the application process, please email


 Pearson Logo

TCT logo




What do you think?